Dusty Springfield - Cameo
Dusty Springfield - Cameo
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Dusty Springfield - Cameo
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Dusty Springfield - Cameo

Dusty Springfield - Cameo

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Available in-store on Saturday 22nd April - 1st come 1st served - No Pre-orders - No reservations

Any remaining stock will be released for online sales on Monday 24th April at 8 pm

All RSD titles restricted to 1 copy per customer

LP coloured vinyl

Limited edition. Exclusive release for RECORD STORE DAY 2023

Originally released in February 1973 on the ABC Dunhill Record label, in the US, and on the UK Philips label in May 1973, Cameo is one of Dusty’s most overlooked albums, featuring some of her greatest vocal performances of the era on material written by major songwriters including David Gates, Ashford & Simpson and Van Morrison.
Recorded in the US between July and October 1972, Cameo was produced by Steve Barri, Dennis Lambert and Brian Potter who later went on to write and produce major hits for Glen Campbell and The Four Tops, among others.

A stellar line-up of musicians contribute to the superb sound (including members of the famous ‘Wrecking Crew’), Hal Blaine, Larry Carlton, Wilton Felder, Carol Kaye, Michael Omartian, Venetta Fields and Clydie King.

Among the many highlights are Learn to Say Goodbye – a masterpiece of tortured soul, with a sublime string arrangement, the brilliant opening track Who Gets Your Love and David Gates' heart-breaking The Other Side of Life. Her beautiful rendition of Van Morrison’s Tupelo Honey even transcends the master’s original. Ashford & Simpson’s soul stomper I Just Wanna Be There bounces along on a Motown-style groove, horns and backing vocals creating the wave for Dusty’s magical voice to ride.There are five Lambert and Potter originals, including Comin' and Goin', a number one single that never was!

Classic Dusty LP, unavailable on vinyl since 1973!. For its 50th anniversary, a special edition replicating the original US gatefold edition with enhanced artwork. Pressed on heavyweight BLUE vinyl

Side A
1. Who Gets Your Love 3:24
2. Breakin' Up A Happy Home 3:32
3. Easy Evil 2:54
4. Mama's Little Girl 3:30
5. The Other Side Of Life 2:39
6. Comin' And Goin' 3:10
Side B
1. I Just Wanna Be There 2:39
2. Who Could Be Loving You Other Than Me? 3:00
3. Tupelo Honey 3:59
4. Of All The Things 3:03
5. Learn To Say Goodbye 2:48
(From The ABC Movie Of The Week ""Say Goodbye, Maggie Cole"")"