Miriam Makeba - Pata Pata

Miriam Makeba - Pata Pata

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price


Reissue, remastered, Orange vinyl

Remastered version of Miriam Makeba's first album for Reprise Records, originally released in 1967.

The album marked a significant international breakthrough for Makeba. Moving to the US after the anti-apartheid film
‘Come Back, Africa’ gained international attention and staying there in exile, she quickly built her career in New York
during the ‘60s, mentored by Harry Belafonte. Signing with Reprise after a period with RCA, she returned to one of
her older songs: “I wrote ‘Pata Pata’ back in 1956, back in South Africa,” remembered Makeba in her autobiography.
“It was a fun little song and I was thinking of a dance that we do at home (“pata” means ‘touch” in Zulu and Xhosa).”
Originally a hit in South Africa with her early vocal harmony group the Skylarks, the new recording, produced by Jerry
Ragovoy, brought a lighter uptempo R’n'B arrangement, adding some English lyrics. “It was my first truly big seller. All of a sudden, people who never knew I had been in America since 1959 were asking me to be on their television
shows and play at their concert halls during 1967. In the discotheques, they invented a new dance called the ‘Pata
Pata’ where couples dance apart and then reach out and touch each other. I went to Argentina for a concert and,
across South America, they are singing my song.”

A1. Pata Pata (Mono Version)
A2. Ha Po Zamani (Mono Version)
A3. What Is Love (Mono Version)
A4. Maria Fulo (Mono Version)
A5. Yetentu Tizaleny (Mono Version)
A6. Click Song Number One (Mono Version)
B1. Ring Bell, Ring Bell (Mono Version)
B2. Jol’Inkomo (Mono Version)
B3. West Wind (Mono Version)
B4. Saduva (Mono Version)
B5. A Piece Of Ground (Mono Version)
C1. Pata Pata (Stereo Version)
C2. Ha Po Zamani (Stereo Version)
C3. What Is Love (Stereo Version)
C4. Maria Fulo (Stereo Version)
C5. Yetentu Tizaleny (Stereo Version)
C6. Click Song Number One (Stereo Version)
D1. Ring Bell, Ring Bell (Stereo Version)
D2. Jol’Inkomo (Stereo Version)
D3. West Wind (Stereo Version)
D4. Saduva (Stereo Version)
D5. A Piece Of Ground (Stereo Version)