Neil Young – Carnegie Hall 1970

Neil Young – Carnegie Hall 1970

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

2 LP  

2021  Shakey Pictures Records – 093624885153
Neil Young Archives Official Bootleg Series – OBS 01

Neil Young selected this concert he played at New York’s Carnegie Hall on December 4th, 1970 as the inaugural release from his Official Bootleg series.

The show rounded off a seminal year for Young who had released the ‘After The Gold Rush’ record just 3 months earlier in September which followed on from the ‘Déjà Vu’ album he recorded as part of Crosby, Still, Nash & Young in March of the same year.

This show is a never before heard recording with Young playing solo on vocals, acoustic guitar, piano and harmonica. Young played two solo acoustic shows at Carnegie Hall that week. “Listening to existing bootlegs, it seems that all the bootleggers got the second Carnegie Hall show,” Young writes on the Neil Young Archives. “There was one at 8:00 pm and one at midnight [about 27 hours later]. No one got that first one — the first time I walked onstage at Carnegie Hall, blowing my own 25-year-old mind.”

A1 Down By The River 4:23
A2 Cinnamon Girl 3:33
A3 I Am A Child 2:50
A4 Expecting To Fly 4:01
A5 The Loner 5:28
A6 Wonderin' 2:00
B1 Helpless 4:14
B2 Southern Man 4:47
B3 Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing 5:31
B4 Sugar Mountain 8:13
C1 On The Way Home 3:27
C2 Tell Me Why 3:10
C3 Only Love Can Break Your Heart 3:04
C4 Old Man 3:31
C5 After The Gold Rush 5:13
C6 Flying On The Ground Is Wrong 4:15
D1 Cowgirl In The Sand 4:00
D2 Don't Let It Bring You Down 2:33
D3 Birds 3:13
D4 Bad Fog Of Loneliness 2:21
D5 Ohio 3:08
D6 See The Sky About To Rain 3:45
D7 Dance Dance Dance 3:14