Rico & The Rudies - Blow Your Horn

Rico & The Rudies - Blow Your Horn

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price


A former student of Jamaica's famed Alpha Boys' school, Rico Rodriguez served his musical apprenticeship playing trombone in some of the island's most celebrated orchestras and bands. A spell at Count Ossie's camp in Wareika Hills introduced him to the Rasta faith and a new approach to music, which he later introduced to his studio work.

In 1961, he emigrated to London, where he became a regular on growing the UK West Indian music scene, cutting numerous sides for every Jamaican music maker of note, including Trojan's in-house producer, Robert Thompson aka Dandy.

Dandy duly paired the trombonist with Britain leading reggae group, The Rudies, with the collaboration spawning an array of singles and the immensely popular album, Blow Your Horn, released by Trojan late in 1969.

Unavailable in any format for over 20 years, this highly sought-after boss reggae album is finally available once more, with the discovery of the long lost of the original Trojan master tapes ensuring it sounds better than ever!

Track Listing

  1. Rico's Message
  2. Niyah Man
  3. Jumping the Gun
  4. The Lion
  5. I'm Your Puppet
  6. Caribbean Serenade
  7. Mighty Dan
  8. Quando Quando Quando
  9. Session Man
  10. Under the Silvery Moon (Feat. Dandy & the Israelites)
  11. Muma Muma (Feat. The Israelites)
  12. Biafra